Backstage Part I. I

For any mortals who wonder what the fabric of reality is like: don’t.  It’s boring.  Short of a messed up sky and bizarre landscape, there is almost nothing of interest.  No animals, no people, no structures.  Just rainbow grass and multicolored rocks.  At one point, I got bored enough to ask Dorian about it.  He looked disdainfully at me and replied,

“We are in the center of Love’s territory.  Any intelligent beings steer clear, and any unintelligent creatures are either fucking, or running away from the presence of two Incarnations.”

“What?  Why?  And why are the Incarnations feared?”

“Love’s influence is most powerful here.  Any being capable of sexual or romantic desire is susceptible and would succumb almost instantly.  We are safe because I am under her protection, and you are Incarnations.”

Death finished Dorian’s explanation, “Incarnations deal with the laws of the universe and of the mind. Backstage is where that is maintained.  This is where our power springs from, and where we are Kings.”

I nodded. “I see.  We’re in touch with all our power here.  But what difference does that make?”

Dorian rolled his eyes before responding.

“In reality, you are limited by the amount of power you can draw.  If Death reaps too many souls, or stresses his forgetability too much, or is badly hurt, then he will no longer be able to act, and his responsibilities, active and passive, will not be fulfilled.  This will change the balance of the universe, and unless his power returns in time…”  Dorian drew a line across his throat.

“Is that how the previous Luck died?”  Dorian glanced at Death.

“No,” the latter said.  “The sun is rising.  We should get some sleep.” Confused, I looked at them.

“Why are we nocturnal here?”

Dorian chuckled condescendingly.

“Trust me, not even an Incarnation wants to walk a couple Cuils in the daytime.” Death nodded his head in agreement before laying down with his arm under his head.

“What,” I asked, “no shelter, no protection, nothing?”  Dorian glared.

“We have ample protection.  Nothing is going to find us.”

“Why not, oh wise one?”

“Because you’re here, you’re automatically protected by your power from basically everything in this world, and anything strong enough to resist both your influence and Love’s, we’ll feel coming a Cuil away.”

 


“Get up, Luck.  It’s late.  We’re still have another three Cuils to go before Devil’s Rock.”

“You know, you say these things, but I still have no idea what a Cuil is or where Devil’s Rock is.”

Death started to speak, but Dorian cut him off.

“I’ll explain the Backstage stuff, you explain your part.  A Cuil is a unit of measurement.  It measures distance while Backstage.  It takes about the same time to walk as five miles.  We’re headed to Devil’s Rock, a beacon of demonic power, where a battle for dominance among demons is being won by a possessed mortal with Love’s old bow.  Death, go.”

“Taking turns, then?  Fine.”  Death turned to me. “Luck, you have been enrolled in a war that will divide the supernatural and disturb reality.  On one side, are-”

“What, new gods and old gods?  Gods of kindness and gods of brutality?  Emotion and logic? Pro-humanity vs. anti-humanity?  I’ve heard all this before in comics and books.”

Death shrugged.

“Not really.  It’s mainly just an opinion thing.  Some people want me to win, some want the other Death to.  I’d list the Incarnations and Figments on each side, but there’s a lot.  Dorian.”

“The general ranking is Figments are the weakest, then Demons, then Gods, then Incarnations.  Figments can be killed normally or by being forgotten, and can kill everything but Incarnations… unless another Incarnation is lending them power. Demons can kill everything, and destroy anything.  That’s what they do; they destroy.  They’re like animals until they posses a mortal, in which case they absorb knowledge and start being able to think.  The more mortals they posses and burn out, the stronger they are.  Gods are like Incarnations, but weaker.  Where Incarnations are offices that govern huge forces, Gods are unique and killable individuals with domain over specific locations, or small forces of nature, or something like that.  They can kill Figments, Demons, Mortals, but not Incarnations.  Just not enough power. They can weaken them, but not kill. Incarnations are the most powerful, with the most varied abilities.  Difficult to kill.  Death?”

“New Incarnations are appointed when the old one dies, usually.  However, due to a malfunction,” Death said, glancing at Dorian,  “a new Death was appointed early.  So, now, there are two of us.  He stole my bike and used it to steal most of my power.  Some Incarnations support him, some support me.  As Luck, you are one of the only Incarnations with your full, unstolen power, and you’re already one of the most powerful.  That’s why I NEEDED your help.  So, what we’re doing is I’m showing you and your power around to help recruit more allies.  There. Satisfied?”  I nodded.

“I appreciate the wisdom, you guys. Just one question.  Who’s that guy?”  Dorian gulped.

“Ah.  That is Dracul.  He’s a demon. A very old one.”

An Indian man with very dark skin, dressed in a black suit approached us.

“I’m sorry, but there is an important conference going on.  I cannot allow you to pass.”  I waited for Death to reap him, but Dorian and he pulled me back.

“Don’t,” Dorian whispered, “It’s not worth it.  Let’s just leave.” Death turned around and walked away.  Dorian and I followed, but I could help looking back at the dark silhouette who could inspire so much caution in the Grim Reaper.

Previous

Next

5 thoughts on “Backstage Part I. I

  1. Pingback: Backstage Part I. II | Only Human

Leave a comment